where is Subquark Hax?

Well, I have shifted my efforts more into the engineering and solutions side of Second Life simply because there have been steady projects flowing to me in those areas.  However, I am working with OpenSim on my own box for eLearning.

OpenSim is the open source software for creating your own virtual world completely under your control.  It looks just like Second Life because you can use the same viewer with it.  You can read more about this in a brief discussion over on the iliveisl blog.

OpenSim has advantages over Second Life for what I do with it since I use it as a 3D animation program for filming eLearning video.  The nature of the OpenSim license means that everything on my box is my copyright.  This became a huge issue with Linden Lab when I asked them on proper attribution for using screen shots in an eLearning book on using Second Life as a 3D studio. I certainly respect copyright and even have a video tutorial on determining copyright owners in Second Life.  But Linden lab wanted to review each screen shot and it’s context before granting approval.

openSim

OpenSimulator

I still think there was some miscommunication.  There is no way anyone could ever publish a book about Second Life if Linden Lab has to review the entire thing.  It took 4 months, a real face-to-face meeting with two business people in San Francisco, emails with same, blog posts with the CEO, inworld IMs with two Lindens, and numerous emails to the licensing department just to get the answer indicated above.

Imagine getting them to review 100 screen shots of converted images to 300 dpi TIFFS and the associated text for each?

Once I found out from one of the lead developers of OpenSim that their license granted me far greater freedom for publishing, it became the obvious choice for this book.

As to where is Subquark Hax?  I am still doing the eLearning aspect, I believe and have seen others use it successfully as an economical 3D animation tool.  It will have lasting staying staying power for a few more years as more business gets done virtually.  Google has a new API (o3d) for rendering 3D content on websites that simply uses JavaScript.  This should change a lot of the web as it becomes more the norm to have some 3D content for your web presence.

In addition to blogging here, I will blog a little over on the iliveisl blog as a contributing author and continue to help with their social media campaign (over 1700 Twitter followers, woohoo) and build like mad isl (my true passion). :)

Good luck with all your elearning endeavors!  :)

